In many countries, there is a growing gap between the technical skills of younger people and those over the age of fifty. What problems does this cause, and what solutions could minimise the problems?

Evidence suggests that all over the world, the vast majority of elderlies are not able to work with new technological progress as much as the younger generation. Although there are specific root causes behind this phenomenon, effective solutions can be adopted to remedy this situation. There are two main reasons why the older generation is not skilful in using new technical devices. Firstly, they are not educated enough. That is, literacy is the main factor which contributes to the ability to understand the electronic advances. For instance, going to school and college have just become widespread in recent decades and before this most of the public was deprived of learning to read or write. Secondly, science has experienced rapid growth recently and as a direct result, it is youngsters who are engaged in it every day not older people. Take workplaces as an example; new devices such as computer-based software are needed in workplaces and employees have to learn about them in order to take account for their jobs though this is not the case for elderly people who are already retired. There are, however, some steps that can be taken to help people who are over 50 years old to increase their productivity and encounter new progress in technology. One step would be improving their abilities by holding suitable classes for these age groups. It would be a great opportunity to be among their peers without losing their self-esteem and learning about technology. a good illustration of this is classes which are held in developed countries such as European countries where old people gather together and a qualified teacher teaches them about their cell phones and laptops. Another viable alternative is to encourage them to be engaged in the new technologies. The more they have to work with these devices, the more it gets easy to cope with. For example, their children may buy them smartphones and tablets and ask them to make video calls or do searches on the internet and teach them patiently. To conclude, the disability of the older generation in working with new gadgets is because of many reasons, the most important of which is illiteracy. In spite of all contributing factors, proper education can reduce the severity of this issue considerably.