There seems to be increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than Continual assessments. What are advantages and disadvantage?

Taking an exam is an inseparable part of educational system, so the manner of holding it is a controversial issue. The cons and drawbacks of evaluating pupils through tests will be debated in the following essay. There are several advantages of taking exams from students. First and foremost, exams are designed and planned according to a certain template which is recognizable for students and they are cognizant of it. This provides a proper competitive atmosphere, and the process of comparing them would be readily for universities to grant admissions to students. Secondly, psychologically, continual investigations would make them not to take the syllabus meditatively because there would be a plethora of make-up exams and they would wear out; consequently, the educational standards will decline. However, some sober exams put pressure on them to study and the whole anxiety is assigned to a certain period. On the other hand, the pressure of exam time is at a very high level which leads to disease and jeopardizing their health. However, temporary evaluations could result in decreasing anxiousness through repeating exams and communicating with the conditions. Besides, the idea of assessing the whole educational statue of pupils just by an exam would not perform properly. To put it differently, investigating nine-months effort in a day is an injustice because numerous accidents will occur on that day. For example, sickness or an accident are two most common occurrences that could happen for everyone, this could hurt their future. In conclusion, tests play a key role in students’ learning. Considering all the drawbacks, exams are the only available manner to assess them. Nonetheless, it has some pros which should be taken into account by teachers to provide a comfortable environment for them.