In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In a highly competitive environment, some societies encourage their younger people by saying you all can reach any goal if you focus on it continuously. The main benefit of these motivations is children are forced to achieve high goals. The main drawback is kids are forced to do things that are out of human control. One primary advantage of motivating teenagers is to achieve high goals. When kids are keen to discover new things and they want to invest in things that have not been found yet. Further, they will not be discouraged when they lose on the first attempt. For example, world-famous singer Taylor Swift’s first concert was not as successful as planned but she never gave up thus her parents encouraged her to perform more hence she has come a long way in her singing career. Furthermore, by giving such pieces of advice to children, they will feel that adults are always there for them. On the other hand, the main disadvantages of aiming children are they tend to invest in things that are out of human control, illegal, and punishable according to the law, and that will make unnecessary competition among children. For Instance, the Grade 05 scholarship in Sri Lanka is considered as the most competitive examination on the island because of the pressure that comes from parents therefore many children face anxiety and stress at a very young age. In conclusion, the main benefits of encouraging kids are they always aim to focus on high targets and to feel that the older generation is always with them whenever the situation is, and the key drawbacks are teenagers feel stressed and they are forced to do things that are not accepted by the law.