All children should study a foreign language in school, starting in their earliest grades, To what extent do you agree or disagree with statement? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is sometimes argued that teaching foreign languages to children should start as soon as possible in the first years of primary school, while learning a new language at a young age offers a plethora of advantages, this matter should be handled with the utmost caution, in order to ensure that it won’t undermine the original goal. One reason that studying a new language is strongly advised for school-aged children, is its effects on brain development. In the course of childhood, human brain is extremely moldable, which means, training language skills could help them further develop a superior cognitive function and problem-solving skills, hence activating specific areas of the brain that are responsible for these abilities as well as learning a language. Moreover, there is a golden window for language learning approximately before the age of ten, during which, children are at peak capability to acquire a new language and potentially reach native-like fluency. This opportunity is not to be overlooked. However, as teaching methods that are utilized by teachers can have a huge impact on children and can lead to life-long traumas if malpracticed malpractices, they should be heavily regulated and have a proper scientific background. If a child is exposed to faulty language learning methods at a young age, they may develop a resentment towards learning foreign languages in the future, and not only it rob them of their precious golden era of learning this skill, but also it might stop them from becoming bilingual in adulthood, which can hinder one’s life and career in our current globalized society. In conclusion, I would argue that starting to learn other languages in childhood is beneficial for them in various aspects, however, it requires certain cautionary actions to safeguard the next generation from its possible hazards.