Some school leavers tend to go for travelling or work for a period of time before directly going to university. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages?

Students tend to take a gap year after their schooling prior to joining the university. There are several merits and demerits to this phenomenon which shall be discussed in the following passages. To begin with, Students undergo tremendous pressure during their final year of schooling. They prepare rigorously for their annual and entrance exams. During this period they stick to a strict timetable and have no spare time for other extracurricular activities. They have no choice but to only concentrate on their studies as they add more value to their life in the future. Hence, Once they complete their exam they are in desperate need of a break. They take one year off to explore the world by travelling to various countries. This not only helps them become more independent, but this journey teaches them to be more responsible and aids them in building new relationships around the globe. Some even travel to underdeveloped countries to do social work which inspires them to help people who are in need. For example, a survey conducted by Teen magazine revealed that 85% of youngsters who took a year off before their college degree are more successful in their careers as they are more spontaneous and can adapt to any foreign circumstances easily. They are also great team players and independent thinkers. On the contrary, a few teenagers who take a year off sometimes do not get back on track with their degree education simply because they get lethargic and lazy during the holidays and are reluctant to go back to traditional schools. Also, some try to get seasonal jobs at some companies and they gain financial independence. Hence they tend to believe that education is not important. This attitude can have negative implications in their lives in the near future. For instance, a Few of my friends who chose to work after school never returned back to college and are now suffering to climb up the career ladder as all the organizations expect a minimum 3- year degree course in their resume. To conclude, I believe that one should take time off only if they have a genuine intention to return back to university to complete their bachelor's degree. If they even have the slightest doubt about coming back, they should proceed with a college education immediately after schooling.