In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that numerous a societies are now living longer than ever before. While It is a commonly held belief that some individuals say an ageing population creates issues ‎‏For governments, there is also an argument that other people believe there are benefits if communities have elderly people. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, increased demand for healthcare services leads to higher costs for the government. In other words, establishing a care home for older adult contributes to enhancing their well-being and providing better career opportunities. In addition, older adults can contribute to society through volunteering and sharing wisdom. For example, the school trips. On the other hand, governments may need to implement policies to encourage higher rates or extend retirement age. It is also possible to say that studies have proven the effectiveness of government encouragement and assistance to families in significantly the birth rate. Moreover,they are able to work for longer and after retirement, they contribute in many ways too. For instance, doing charitable work, also grandparents caring for their young grandchildren.In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that an ageing population poses challenges for governments, it is clear that these are outweighed by the significant benefits that elderly people bring to society.