The overuse of plastic packaging has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments can tackle these problems

Plastic has been one of the most used materials in the modern world. However, excess in its usage has created concerning issues such as tons of rubbish and ocean pollution. This essay will further discuss these concerns and suggest how governments can solve them. Plastic has certainly been one of the most useful inventions of the last century. The use of bags made with plastic is a good example of how this material can facilitate daily activities such as carry Change the form of the verb carrying show examples groceries. Food packages ensure aliments are not contaminated by bacteria, for example. However, after being opened most containers cannot be reused so they are discarded creating tons of rubbish that does not decompose easily, so they accumulate in disposal areas for long periods. Furthermore, many plastic items are not properly discarded so they can end up in oceans which means they are a threat to maritime animals as well as cause a disbalance in the aquatic fauna. Those are problems that are really concerning in the current society and need to be urgently addressed. To solve problems related to over usage of plastic, governments need to promote the reduction of plastic usage, seeking alternatives that are more eco-friendly and decomposable materials. This can be done by encouraging people to reuse packages and bags, as well as using paper and glass and banning plastics. Likewise, the establishment of laws that ban unnecessary plastic use and reinforce recycling policies are crucial. In Australia, these measurements are already happening and plastic bags are no longer available for free for the population, unless they are decompostable. Finally, it is also imperative to make sure plastic rubbish is being recycled or properly discarded after leaving houses, so authorities need to create reliable recycling policies. This will likely be effective in solving some of the negative matters related to plastic overuse. In conclusion, although plastic is very practical for humans it causes a lot of problems for society such as excess of rubbish and ocean pollution. To tackle these negative issues is necessary to create policies and measures that ban unnecessary plastic, promote recycling and use more eco-friendly alternatives.