People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

Home is a place where people get together and share ups and downs in life. However, in this modern society, family gatherings seem to be uncommon in many places. This trend is believed to affect negatively individuals in various aspects of life. To begin with, there are several reasons why family members have become further and further from each other. One of the main causes is in terms of their busyness. The development of numerous facets in society requires individuals including both workers and students to work hard so that they can achieve their goals. For instance, many directors who hold important positions in a company and have to take their time to meet business partners seldom go home early and spend time with their children. Besides going to school every day, learners have to review lessons in many other extra classes to pass their exams. Another reason is regarding the domination of technology. Nowadays, a person owns at least one or two electronic devices including laptops and smartphones that make individuals lose track of time whenever they are used. Last but not least, the sense of individualism has been favoured. In other words, instead of joining family reunions, people prefer to spend time pursuing their own ways of living. Needless to say, it is obvious that everyone is far apart from their families. It is a commonly held belief that this issue has had many influences on the lives of family members. Firstly, the break of family bonds may lead to some conflicts and tension. That is to say, when people seldom have a talk with each other, unresolved issues may arise and affect their relationships. Every year, there are many cases in which siblings fight each other due to misunderstanding for a long time. Secondly, this may result in emotional distress. In fact, family bonds provide emotional support and a sense of belonging. When these bonds are broken, individuals may experience feelings of anxiety, isolation and depression. To give an example of this, young children whose backgrounds are from broken families are reported to have difficulties in academic performance and social relationships. Thus, it can be seen that there are many negative impacts of this problem. In conclusion, blood relations play a vital role during a lifetime. Therefore, individuals should maintain their kinship to strike a balance in life.