In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is evident that in some countries physical stores are being replaced by online shops. I believe this replacement is absolutely positive because of its convenience and its contribution to the national and global economy. E-commerce, which is obviously convenient, has outweighed traditional retail. With only a click of a button, customers can buy whatever they need. For instance, in the past, if people wanted to buy luxury brand name items, they had to go to physical stores, thus, it took them a lot of time. Besides, shopping online is fast and safe thanks to its large scale of delivery. Regarding sellers, there are various platforms that they can benefit from such as Alibaba, Amazon, and Shopee, which makes it easier than ever for them to approach different customers no matter the geographical distances. Additionally, the growing number of online shops also contributes to the national and global economy. Since a tremendous number of orders are being placed, there is a significant increase in demand for packaging and shipping processes. Therefore, this can provide more job opportunities, thus decreasing the unemployment rate. Furthermore, shopping in the virtual space can enable businesses to cut enormous costs from maintenance, salaries for staff as well as other fees. This allows them to lower the prices and make their products more affordable and accessible for customers. Last but not least, the more revenue that is generated from e-commerce, the more taxes the sellers and customers have to pay, which substantially boosts the national budget so that the governments can use it for enhancing public infrastructures. In conclusion, it is clear that online shopping is a positive innovation in current life thanks to its convenience and how it benefits the economy of the whole world.