Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although some contend that advertisements are more pervasive than ever before and that people have become desensitized to them, I disagree with this statement and argue that advertising has been more persuasive and effective in product launches as a result of improved copywriting techniques and its expansive influence on social media. On the one hand, those who advocate for the deterioration of advertising campaigns insist that users are increasingly bombarded with promotions across various platforms ranging from TV to social media to the extent that they develop marketing fatigue and tune them out at a glance. However, this reasoning is not sound enough due to the fact that while people do show disregard for the selling of goods in general, it is by no means true that they will ignore those that are associated with their preferences or familiar with them. A clear example can be seen in the brand loyalty of some Vietnamese students who are likely to pause at every brand-related advertisement to stay updated and browse with joy. On the other hand, it is more reasonable to claim that advertisers have successfully exerted their influence over the public’s purchasing decisions for two reasons. Firstly, many agencies have endeavoured to implement a handful of fresh copywriting strategies such as celebrity endorsements and emotional appeals, thereby escaping conventional ways of marketing and further promoting the product’s presence. Secondly, now that social media has been acknowledged as the most predominant means of entertainment, hundreds of brands plan to widen the scope of their selling over these platforms so that they can reach a larger number of consumers with different demands. For instance, Shein, which is a popular women’s shop, manages to offer lucrative sponsorship deals to TikTok’s powerful influencers to boost their turnovers. In conclusion, I agree with the assumption that current advertising agencies have succeeded in engaging the public’s interest. Besides, it is flawed to claim that users will disregard every advertisement that is posted on their screens.