consumer are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

It appears that the world is moving more and more towards capitalism and consumerism, with companies spending loads of money to advertise their products to consumers. While corporations are using both ethical and unethical practices to boost their reach among the public, I agree that people are being highly influenced by these adverts, and steps must be taken to protect the consumers and their interests. History shows how highly humans are baited by these promotion campaigns, even if the product is not worthwhile. For instance, diamonds were once very unpopular, and their sales were dipping downwards. Then, an advertisement company hired by a diamond dealer giant glorified them as a symbol of love, which skyrocketed their sales. Successful people, like athletes, are hired as brand ambassadors, planting the idea of linking their success to the advertised products, like health drinks, which in complete contrast, can be detrimental to our human bodies. Popularization of sneaker culture is another example of how marketing strategies can influence the masses and generate millions of dollars for these businesses. However, consumers’ interests can be protected by alerting them about these strategies and encouraging them to spend their money wisely. Perhaps, The government can run awareness campaigns, and set guidelines for the companies to follow, in order to restrict any false marketing. Authorities should be formed and designated to supervise, and censor ads. In case any culprits are found violating these rules, heavy fines must be imposed as punishment. To conclude, with selfishness and greed at an all-time high, it has become very important to protect human values, and thus these measures will certainly help people to decide what is good and what is harmful to them, and not take everything by its face value but use their own brain first.