Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages ​​of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The perspectives on the preservation of languages with few speakers vary widely. Some people argue that governments should invest capital in preventing those languages from dying out, while others regard it as wasting resources. In this essay, I will explore both viewpoints and explain why I strongly agree with the former statement. On the one hand, a language stands for its own culture, and I believe that diverse cultures can significantly benefit society. First of all, people are allowed to exchange their opinions based on their background, thereby giving an optimized solution to the problems in reality. For instance, aboriginal Indians in rural American areas cooperate with the federal government to address the annual wildfire in forests by leveraging their unique experience of living in a forest. Secondly, individuals often learn from history to avoid making similar mistakes, like the preservation of Nazi camps in World War two reminds humans of the results of hate and greed. Therefore, if a language disappears, we probably have difficulty realizing the underlying meaning of its previous history in the future. On the other hand, it seems impossible for governments to accurately estimate the total payout. Governments should determine the approach to save a language, like promoting online learning resources offered by native speakers or providing related courses in academic institutions. Undeniably, all the means cost considerably, and assessing annual expenditure is not going to be an easy task for officials. In conclusion, despite the fact that saving languages costs governments a great amount of money, I believe that this policy is worthwhile, as it enhances diversity of the society and prevents mistakes or tragedies from happening again.