We live in a world in which we are constantly exposed to advertising. To what extent does advertising influence our choices as consumers and what effect does it have on our lifestyle? Discuss this issue and give your opinion.

In the current era, advertisements are ubiquitous in everyone's daily life, such as on TV, on radio, on the billboards, on a page people are viewing on their phones and computers. Some people say that advertisements are informative which are useful in our lives, however, I reckon that the negative effects outweight the benefits. Admittedly, advertising can help consumers make informed choices by highlighting the features and benefits of a product. Based on the products' features, audience can easily decide which one is the best fit according to their age, affordibility and the practical use. For example, the launch of the new energy car may bring people knowledge of this commodity thus evaluating their puchase capacity to own such a car. On the contrary, it can also lead to impulsive buying, materialism, and unrealistic expectations. For the purpose of drawing audience's attention, many advertisenments are over exaggerated, as a result, arbitary decisions and excessive expenditure become a common phenomenon. Even worse, propagandas may provide false or misleading information due to the limited length of them which may impose the users in danger. For example, a short advert on TV cannot show a full instruction of a washing machine, therefore, it shows a woman simply presses a button and all in a sudden the laundry has been done perfectly. The reality is, without proper settings and suitable load of clothes, the machine can go wrong and even get burnt. Therefore, advertisements may lead people to buy unnecessary commodities and also bring them unexpected risk. To conclude, while advertising has its benefits in creating awareness and providing information, its pervasive nature can sometimes lead to negative consequences such as consumer manipulation, increased debt due to overspending, and detrimental effects on mental health. Just as what is written in the book "Rich Dad, Poor Dad", we should "buy what we need, but not what we want".