Some people fail in school, but end up being successful in life. Why do you think that is the case? What is, in your opinion, the most important thing to succeed in life?

In many societies, obtaining formal education is a necessity and parents tend to gauge children's capability from their school scores. However, there are proofs where the individual who failed in school still still succeed in work life and there is a possible answer to these cases. While formal education equips people with the initial knowledge, there are essential things that have a significant part in bringing success in life. Formal schools are places to educate people with theoretical knowledge in a curriculum that is prepared by the government and in my opinion, schools are not a place to gauge children's abilities in the future. Subjects that are taught such as math and science are used to gauge the quality of children's knowledge, while there is no doubt that people have a lot of abilities other than what is taught in formal school. For example, in Indonesia, there are people who struggle with math but have talent in communication skills or design and once they are guided to pursue it they can master it in no time. Besides, proper education in school can not be a measurement of people's capability because it only teaches us about certain subjects while in reality, especially in work life, this knowledge only contributes to a small amount of success. Based on the previous considerations, many have said that soft skills are the important thing to success in life, in addition, there are a lot of soft skills such as communication, adaptability and resilience. To be accepted in society, these skills are important because we interact directly and we can not learn them theoretically. What's more, in a dynamic society, people must be able to adapt to the new environment and always learn new things because being well-educated does not guarantee that people can adapt easily. For example, in work life we are required to have certain technical skills, however, to climb higher positions, mentality and soft skills are notable things to have. To sum up, it is important to have soft skills other than knowledge from a formal school. To conclude, failing in school does not mean that people are going to fail in life because the school only teaches theoretical knowledge and it is up to us to implement it in daily life. Because of that, the important thing to have is soft skills to keep us adaptable to life which is always changing.