The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they should not waste their limited resources and expensive hi-tech media such as computer software,videos and DVDs.to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the current age, technology is developing at a startling pace providing people with easier access to all sorts of information. While digital books and multi-media devices are gaining their popularity, a lot of criticism follows. People say that libraries should not waste money on machines to replace books, however, I disagree with this point of view. It is undeniable that paper printed books have many merits, such as protecting reader's eye-sight and enhancing people's physical health by maintaining a good reading habit. In addition, reading paper books may offer fewer distractions. For instance, indulging in words and pages makes people hard to realize that the time has already passed away, unlike reading on a modern device, adverts may pop up anytime to distract readers from their original reading purposes. Though libraries should definitely keep printed books, it doesn't mean they should close the door to modern technologies which may bring more benefits. To begin with, libraries are places where people seaching for various of resources, and digital devices enable information and knowledge to be acquired by faster and easier means in libraries. For instance, if people look for a historical event, it may take them one hour to find the right book and the right page. On the contrary, by simply typing key words in a serching engin, the story will be fully presented on the screen. Furthermore, hi-tech machines provide people with universal access to information presented by various media forms. For example, numerous images on computers, vivid videos on DVDs, and live broadcasting on Apps and streaming media platforms, all of them promote the development of libraries thus making readers' learning more enjoyable. To conclude, books in the libraries play a vital role as they are good for people's health and maintaining reader's concentration, on the other hand, the modern age is calling for an evolution of libraries by increasing digital facilities to meet current informational needs.