It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

In general, people make decisions based on their varied characteristics and knowledge of the situation. Unlike many who are willing to take the risk, personally speaking, I tend to be more conservative because life and career could be at stake if bad choices are made. Undeniably, most of those who dare to dream and risk it all could make a fortune since higher risk usually equals higher reward. There are numerous cases that can prove this point. For example, Bill Gates, founder of Microsoft, took an unusual and canny turn by dropping out of Harvard to start a business, which would be impugned by most, and achieved unprecedented glory. Moreover, those who grabbed the opportunity when the stock market was in its heyday now live extravagantly. From this vantage point, individuals should be encouraged to treat risks as treasures and fully explore them. However, there are conspicuous drawbacks that can be profound for one’s life. One of the most prominent flaws of risk-taking is the great possibility of failure, which may be utterly damaging and irreparable. It is common for people to oscillate between the state of being super-rich and insolvency overnight during the stock rush in China; such grave pains were so intolerable that thousands of bankrupt people committed suicide. The same can be seen in other aspects of life as well, namely university applications, career choices, and even marriage decisions; many resulted in great repentance due to inadequate and thorough consideration. With that being said, one arbitrary choice of risk-taking in life can have an estimable impact on one’s personal development, and the negative influence might overshadow the bright side. To sum up, even though there are agreeable and attractive advantages to doing things that are associated with higher risks, a person needs to holistically discriminate the effects of both sides before actually doing so.