Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the issue of smoking in public places has become highly terrible. There are those who say that smoking in public areas should be banned; however, others believe that it should not. I’m fully agree with that opinion. One of the main reasons for banning smoking in public places is the health risks associated with passive smoking. Second-hand smoke is known to cause serious health problems such as lung cancer, heart disease, and respiratory illnesses. And children, pregnant women, and people with underlying health conditions are particularly vulnerable to the harmful effects of passive smoking. If someone nearby is smoking, a non-smoker is forced to inhale secondhand smoke, which can contain over 7,000 chemicals, including 70 known to cause cancer. Apart from health concerns, smoking in public places also has a negative impact on the environment. Cigarette smoke releases harmful chemicals which pollute the air and contribute to climate change. Banning smoking in public places would not only protect people's health but also reduce the environmental impact of smoking. When cigarette butts are littered in public places, they can be washed into storm drains, rivers, and oceans, causing pollution and harm to wildlife. In conclusion, it must be said that smoking in public areas has become a complex issue with no easy solutions. Despite arguments to the contrary, I very strongly feel that we should ban smoking in all public places and we will have a healthier and cleaner society.