In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing?

Over the last few years the number of air passengers has increased dramatically. There are a number of reasons for this increase with some corresponding benefits. However, it has also caused some problems with regard to the environment. There are three main reasons for the growth in air travel, namely reduced costs, more convenience and an improved network. As regards the cost, there are now many budget airlines offering low cost flights. This has meant that other airlines have lowered their fares in order to compete. Furthermore, people are now able to book their own flights online as opposed to through a travel agent, ensuring that they get the best price. Finally, with more international airports than ever before, it is much easier to fly than in the past. Generally, these changes have been mostly positive for people. Air travel is no longer limited to the wealthy and more people have been offered the chance to experience new cultures and experience new things. Additionally, more families are able to travel abroad for holidays than in the past. Despite these benefits for people, air travel has had a negative effect on the environment. This is mostly because aviation fuel produces a large volume of greenhouse gasses which in turn cause climate change. Furthermore, the increased number of flights has led to more noise pollution which affects the quality of life for many people. Finally it can be argued that airports have a negative impact on the surrounding country and wildlife. In conclusion, it is evident that there are a number of reasons for the increase in air travel and that this rise has been largely beneficial on an individual level. However, the environmental impact of air travel needs careful consideration.