In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In a few parts of the world, apprenticeships are more popular than attending university. People often choose to go straight into skill-based training following high school where they learn essential skills through experience instead of spending years studying for a degree and not having the experience to start a job. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and see if the advantages of apprenticeships outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, by going straight into training, youngsters are directly thrown into the world of work where they have the chance to experience work life first-hand. For instance, when working for a wholesale business, young people can immediately gain experience of stock inventory, customer service and sale targets. Moreover, by not choosing to go to university and spending around four years academically, students add around 4 years of experience to their profile. Consequently, this becomes enough time to excel in any field. Additionally, people can save thousands of pounds by not going to university and working from a younger age, which can in turn put them in a better financial position. Therefore the advantages of going straight into training following high school is efficient and cost-effective. Nevertheless, there are drawbacks to not attending university and going to training, University degrees are often broad and give multiple career possibilities for graduates to choose from, however, with apprenticeships, people are often stuck to one particular job such as a plumber or painter. In the event that they lose interest in the job, they will be left with no wider range of knowledge. Therefore, university degrees provide people with the opportunity to extend and apply their knowledge to various careers, As a consequence, university degrees provide better job security and because of that, I believe the disadvantages of apprenticeships outweigh the advantages as it has the increased risk of being unemployed. In conclusion, there are huge advantages of going straight into work-related training namely gaining more experience at a younger age and saving money. On the other hand, it does not outweigh the advantages of going to university which include gaining a wide range of knowledge and having an increased job security.