Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that digital networking platforms could have positive effects on the young generation, whereas other opinions are towards the negative sides of social media sites. In this essay, I will delve into the upsides and downsides of this issue. To begin with, it is undeniable that we are surrounded by technology in our daily lives, which provides a great amount of opportunities for young people. First of all, we can keep up with the global world with the help of digital platforms. For example, when the earthquake hit Turkiye in 2023, young people saw the disaster and took various actions to help people. Besides, young people need job vacancies and they had better socialize and broaden their horizons by networking. Linkedin, for instance, is a great way of contacting other people all around the world. On the other side, social media platforms could have many disadvantages. Nowadays, young people are distracted by many things, and digital platforms, I strongly believe, are the most prominent ones. Teenagers are spending quite an amount of time on their phones or tablets, which causes them not to focus on their studies. Moreover, many psychologists suggest that social media platforms create beauty standards that most people desire to have. For instance, eyelash lifting or dark eyebrows are quite popular among young people. Thus, they lose their self-confidence, which damages their relationships. In conclusion, it is inevitable to refrain from digital platforms even if they have pros and cons. The important this is to know how to balance it and use it in effective ways.