Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern world, the way to reduce the crime rate is a topic of debate. While some people believe that serving a longer prison sentence is the solution, others oppose that there are substitute options to control this rate. This essay will discuss both aforementioned views before outlining my personal opinion. On the one hand, many individuals hold the view that offenders should be punished by serving longer punishment. This is the way to protect the community from bad-behaving individuals, especially hardened criminals with serious crimes. To be specific, there are a small number of testifiers over the age of 60 who have committed serious crimes. They are harmful to society; hence they should be kept behind bars for a longer period, and by the day they get released from prison, they will be too old to do bad things again. Without keeping these organized crimescrime in jail for a long period, the community would be in constant fear. On the other hand, although I acknowledge that keeping criminals in jail for an extended time is one of the solutions, I am of the opinion that there are alternative ways to lower the crime rate. Firstly, educating and providing training to prisoners will equip them with the skills that are required for them to be able to make a living again once they are out of jail. Some jailbirds committed petty crimes like stealing, and burglary because they were not educated. With proper education, their mindset will be diverted to a much more positive way, hence, it is a chance for them to come back and contribute to society again. Secondly, some countries allow inmates to reduce their charges by truthfully providing information for further investigation. By this, certain high-skilled syndicates later contribute massively to the community once they are out of the cell. In conclusion, I believe multiple actions need to be taken to reduce crime levels and give longer lockup sentences alongside various other alternative ways.