Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

In the current digitalization era, research concludes that young generations prefer to interact online rather than to meet physically. This phenomenon is understandable because everyone has phones, and most of them are active social media users. In my opinion, there are three reasons why this phenomenon is happening nowadays. First and foremost, the first characteristic is that young generations want everything to be flexible. They prefer to meet online because they want to meet without worrying about the time and distance. For instance, when a friend wants to interact with another friend who lives outside a country, he may just contact through a direct message feature in social media and wait for the response only for a while. Second, teenagers want everything to be cheap. Meeting physically requires money because they have to travel and buy some food, and they obtain the money from their parents. Unlike young adults who easily hang out from their salary, teenagers must think of the best way to socialize based on their limited resources. Hence, they choose to meet online because it is free. The last characteristic of teenagers is that they want everything to be less effortful. Before social media existed, teenagers had to spend more time getting to know each other. After social media emerged, they already have nearly half of the information by scanning through the person's social media. Therefore, if teenagers require unanswered information, they can use the direct message feature and chat freely. To conclude, young generations like to interact online because they think that is the best way to interact flexibly, affordably, and easily. Nevertheless, if parents want their children to socialize physically, then they must provide extra money or assistance to meet their preferred way of hanging out.