Some people think that university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that university students should only focus on studying subjects that will be useful for our society’s future, while others argue that they should have the freedom to choose whatever they feel inclined to. On the one hand, it is true that our goal as a species should be to try and seek progress at all cost, therefore we should incentivise our youth to find their passion in the scope of subjects that compose most of our development, this being the science and technology fields. For instance, if we do achieve that, we will most probably find an increasing rate for most key indicators that we measure for human development, such as quality of life and life expectancy; by having more human capital and talent - such as scientist -, in the constant search for new breakthroughs in medicine that will impact positively in our generation’s overall health. On the other hand, careers that fall outside these two categories, have also been the foundation for other kinds of improvement in human lives. For example, there have been many highly recognised creatives figures that proved to be ahead of their respective eras, by being able to imagine and conceive ideas and concepts in the art’s field that went on to be the seeds for the development of many scientific artefacts, such as the case of Supersonics’ flying cars, or Back To The Future’s smart homes; just to name a few. In conclusion, these two arguments show that even though both kinds of careers are very important for us as a species, we should find a balance between them by “standing in the intersection of Science and Liberal Arts” in order to exploit the full human potential -just like Steve Jobs once said-.