Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays people are watching the same films, fashions, brands, advertisements and TV channels. To what extend do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

In contemporary society, the disparity of each nation will being obvious due to the diffusion of many categories like films, fashions, brands, advertisements and TV channels which were approached by various users. While some argue that this phenomenon has many disadvantages, I believed that this outweigh any bad c onsequences and discuss this further and provide a concluding view. Firstly, the fact that cultural exchanges will be made more frequently indicates that there are more benefits. To be more specific, films and other forms of media, which are the carriers of culture, can be spread over the world, which makes audiences feel the different values of different cultures. For example, the fact that Western movies are displayed in China’s cinemas makes more Chinese people familiar with Western culture. In addition, citizens all over the world use the same social media, causing communication among people from various countries to become more frequent. This situation also reduces the barriers among cultures. As a result, with the decline of cultural conflicts and misunderstandings, a peaceful international relationship will be possible. Secondly, another merit that cannot be ignored is that economic development can be promoted. In other words, the same advertisements, whose role is to promote products, can provide a greater market and more customers for enterprises, leading to an increase in international trade. This is also a driving force for economic growth. Furthermore, more positions of employment can be offered with the rise in international businesses. For instance, the demand for interpreters or translators will go up as language is the prerequisite of communication. Therefore, economic progress can be achieved by every nation, and the living standards of human beings will also be better. In conclusion, although globalization may lead to the disappearance of certain cultural differences, I insist on that its advantages far outweigh these disadvantages. It promotes cultural understanding, and economic prosperity, and brings important opportunities for the common development of human society.