Government should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

The amount of public money which is spent on providing care or financial support for elderly people has been one of the problems that some societies have been facing. In response to this situation, some people say that we should stop taking such measures because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. And, I strongly disagree with this statement. This essay will discuss this topic and give the author's opinion. First of all, according to a survey, it is sure that the amount of public financial resourses used for social welfare accounts for high percentages of all expenditure in most societies. Because of this, they sometimes need to rise the tax rates to make up for the gaps. Thus, some people say that we should reduce burdens on younger generations by cutting the budget for providing care or support for elderly people. They believe that this measure will reduce the burdens of younger generations and improve their economy. However, there is a different perspective that if we cut the budget for social welfare, most people will think that they must save money for the life after retirement. As a result, they will hesitate to spend their money and their ecnomy will be less improved than they expect. In this sense, I strongly express my objection to this idea. To sum up, the amount of financial resources that we allocate to social welfare for elderly people has been one of the serious issues in most societies. Although some people believe that reducing the cost of such areas will lead to their economic improvement, it will not necessary happen because citizens will start to save for their future.