It is common that in many companies people from different ages work together in a same team. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantges?

In the professional setting, it is normal for workers across generations to work in the same group. In my opinion, by working with someone older or younger, we tend to have a work-life balance because older work colleagues have to allocate their time to families even though younger colleagues dedicate their time only to work. Despite the benefits, working with different ages still has several disadvantages. This essay will explain both the advantages and disadvantages of working across generations in the same group. I would like to explain an additional advantage of working with different generations, apart from what has just been mentioned. On one hand, the team will be full of ideas when solving a problem, because older members argue based on their experience and the younger ones based on their current knowledge. For instance, when a team wants to increase lipstick product sales, older members want to target the current market, because, based on experience, it contributes to the growth of sales. Meanwhile, the younger members would say the lipstick must be sold through online shops because of the current trend behavior of women. On the other hand, the disadvantage of collaborating with colleagues of different ages might slow the progress down because older members might not be updated with current technologies. For instance, when a team leader requires the team to make a quick presentation, the younger generations can not use Canva, a design platform full of free presentation templates, because the older generations do not know how to use it. Eventually, the team sticks to using PowerPoint and making the presentation template from scratch, which takes considerable time. To conclude, the advantages of working with people of different ages are encouraging the team members to brainstorm and training them to synthesize the idea that satisfies all members. However, the disadvantage lies in the technical aspect. The team members do not have the same knowledge regarding current technologies, which might hinder younger generations to innovate. Therefore, I can say that a multi-generation team is good because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.