Some people think products should be made to last as long as possible, while others think making products cheap is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ over whether the products should be made cheap or durable, considering the commercial value of the products. Although high-quality manufacturers can enhance the value of the brand, I suggest that economic items are more crucial than long-lasting ones for some reasons. To begin with, cheap manufacturers have a positive influence in terms of affordability and companies’ profit. Since lower-income individuals are able to afford the same quality of life as the wealthy groups’, the sales volume for inexpensive production is larger than for expensive one. Therefore, the revenue will increase as consumers are more likely to repurchase which is a benefit for the introduction of new technology or invention to the market as the consumers would like to spend less money on fresh things. It is undeniable that products with high durability require a higher quality which benefits the value of the brand and the usage for customers. Despite those products ', higher prices, which are attributed to higher costs for manufacturing, they still conform to buyers’ demands for the quality of items. For example, people who frequently play video games need a high-performance computer which provides a longer and better user experience. However, a higher cost of the raw materials and overhead results in a limited profit which is unfavourable to the development of the company. In conclusion, I am convinced that cheap items have more advantages for both the consumers and the companies, due to their accessibility and the repurchase rate.