In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

The concept of 'hard-working' has been inculcated generation by generation since ancient times. Many people, especially parents, argue that it is still the unique way to be successful. Nevertheless, I staunchly believe that there are many other characteristics that should be considered rather than maximizing the effort that humans should make daily. In this essay, I will explain the drawbacks and the benefits, and I will give my reasons in detail. To start with, it is well known that most people have to work hard every day not only to accomplish their targets but also to support their families. Therefore, workers usually perform their tasks for long periods of time, even working more hours than those stipulated in their schedules. However, it is considered the way to learn strategies as well as to acquire enough knowledge and tools to reach their goals. For example, Elon Musk, during his childhood and adolescence used to study and work for more than 16 hours per day, and nowadays is known as one the biggest entrepreneurs in the world because of their wealth. Conversely, the aforementioned example cannot be applied because this is not the common pattern shown in our society. Unfortunately, the rate of mental diseases has rocketed, which is explained mainly by the prevalence of 'burnout' in workers. This term has been widely popularized during the last decade due to the incidence of procrastination has increased in humaking and low performances in companies are more common. As a consequence of this, the importance of taking a rest and doing leisure activities has been recognized and the definition of 'workaholic' has been taken into account as a disease. For instance, sociologist researchers have shown that more than 50% of the population has experienced chronic fatigue and depressive ideas related to their wide periods of work. To sum up, hard work has been taught as the main measurement to achieve our goals. Nonetheless, there are many other factors that should be evaluated in order to improve mental health as well as the performance of the population.