In some countries of the world, cars are replacing bicycles. However, in some countries, bicycles are replacing cars. What are the reasons for these two developments? In your opinion, which one is better?

In several nations, there is a different tendency that residents would rather utilize cars than bicycles, or vice versa. The writer of this essay staunchly asserts that the principal reasons derive from the distinctive development of road system along with the cultural attitude of each country, while the author thinks that car is a better option. It is vital to acknowledge that the facilities for transportation mainly cause the distinction. To explain in further detail, in some developing countries, the transport system for cyclists is very unsafe because there is no actual lane for these vehicles, but if there are any cycle paths, a plethora of other vehicles will utilize illegally these priority lanes for bicycles without any serious punishment. As a consequence, many cyclists consider this contemporary situation is so risky and inconvenient that they are forced to transform bicycles into cars or other public transportation. Take India as a prime illustration, in 2021, the WHO analyzed and indicated that India accounted for 11% of all traffic accidents in the world which made them stand at the highest figures. Another point worth considering is that the traditional norm about the position in society related to the usage of vehicles is the reason why some countries witness the preference for cars. To be more specific, in extensive countries, especially in Asia, the car is a symbol of luxury, hence, the bike is just seen as the usage by the lower class. This traditional attitude leads to the tendency of the society, especially with young adults, residents prefer to utilize cars in order to assert their position along with the recognition of success. Therefore, the cultural perspective about the relation between vehicles and class in society causes the utilization of cars in many countries comprising the majority. The viewpoint of the writer believes that the convenience of cars is the main reason why it is selected. In other words, cars have numerous flexible features which can be served for many purposes by the owners. For instance, due to climate change in recent decades, the weather is unpredictable so if there is any unusual weather such as heavy rain or snowstorm, owning a car will become an extremely appropriate decision. Thus, the flexible adaptation to the climate change circumstances is the significant factor that makes cars the better option. Taking all points into account, it can be noted that the transport system and inequality laws for bicycles coupled with the traditional opinion about the class related to the kind of vehicles cause different preferences in some countries. Furthermore, convenience is demonstrated to be a better choice.