There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view stating that the younger generation is posed to a higher level of pressure in terms of academic success. This view then becomes the basis for a certain belief that subjects that are not related to academics, like sports and cooking, need to be taken out of the curriculum in order to get the students to solely focus on schoolwork that is of an academic nature. I disagree with this belief because schools need to provide holistic education towards the students, and despite being considered as non-academic materials, nonetheless, they are still as important to be learned by the students as do their academic counterparts. Firstly, school is the main institution that can provide teaching towards children, and thus it needs to be able to give a holistic education to them. School years are the formative years for students and how they would later become part of the society post-graduation, hence it is imperative that pupils can learn all they need to know through undergoing education at school. This can only be made possible if these kids are taught about all things end-to-end. Secondly, just because some areas of study are considered to be non-academic, it does not mean that they are of less importance to the students compared to the academic ones. For example, I personally experienced the disadvantage of not being taught how to do my personal taxes because it was considered a non-academic subject at school. This consideration resulted in Taxation not making it to my school curriculum, which in turn prompted me to learn how to file my annual taxes on my own. Therefore, although these materials are viewed as non-academic and deemed to be non-essential to be taught at school, however, they still contain knowledge that students need to understand in order to function at their best as part of society. In conclusion, I believe that teachings of non-academic lessons should not be removed from the school syllabus, because we need schools to be reliable in providing end-to-end education towards students, and that these subjects regardless are still crucial and necessary to be learned by the younger generation in order to perform their best after they graduate.