In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables . Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

A prevalent trend occurring frequently in the modern day is individuals inclined towards having their own places for growing fresh vegetables rather than spaces for community and society. Although many point out that citizens can reap the benefits of public parks, I would argue that the advantages as a whole overshadow these perceived drawbacks. One of the main aspects of indigenous gardening spaces is due to the healthy lifestyle that it can lead to. To explain, local gardens will encourage individuals to consume more fresh fruit and diverse types of vegetables. As a result, it will raise one's awareness of being physically strong and also aid people in caring for themselves. Take Hasaki- a remote town in the North of Japan as a good example, where governments motivate their inhabitants to stay fit by having more places for residents to grow strawberries, apples and other kinds of fruit. Hence, replacing public spaces with gardens is a great way to ensure citizens will be healthier. Another point to consider is that taking part in outdoor activities which relate to farming will make residents find it easy to connect and maintain mutual relationships with their neighbourhoods. Thus, it can bridge the gap of people and also foster a sense of unity. For instance, a BBC record showed that some primary schools in the USA hold a competition named "Potatoes" every year for students and it was a suitable chance for them to make friends by attending those extracurricular activities. Whereby, indigenous places for growing are an opportunity for individuals to stay in touch with others. There was, however, a large number of inhabitants who felt that planting fruit and vegetables could allow fertilizers to impinge on the environment. Due to the fact that fresh vegetables need an enormous amount of chemical sources to prevent them from damaging by insects. As a consequence, those kinds of liquid can be toxic to both individuals and the environment, which also causes issues based on health. Therefore, it might be hard for governments to reduce the sewage waste that the processes of fruit-growing contain and it can damage negatively to a person. To conclude, despite planting vegetables,may have a detrimental impact on one's health, it still benefits inhabitants from its encouragement and community activities.