In some cities, public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In many urban areas, open spaces and public parks are being repurposed into gardens so that local people can use them to plant their own vegetables and fruit. This writer is of the opinion that self-producing and connecting public together outweigh any drawbacks such as wasting time and less land for people’s daily activities. It is vital to understand that individuals still buy food and vegetables outside and have concerns about their safety. This is because most of the vegetables and fruits nowadays are filled with pesticides or are genetically modified. With this new plan, residents can grow it in gardens, take care of it by themselves and enjoy their achievements. As a result, the quality of food to consume can be increased because did not use any pesticides or fertilizers that create toxins in the environment. Hence, removing the doubts from consumers to create a healthy habit. However, many citizens think that this is unnecessary as people find high-quality products in many supermarkets around the world. They believe that because the high-quality fruit and vegetables are in places where examinations take place before entering the supermarket, this free space needs to be used for citizens who will lose their space to do exercises or rest. This is a valid point but through planting grocery products, the community can create a strong sense of unity through how to grow fruit, and avoid the phenomenon that the young generation does not know anything about agriculture skills. Consequently, this fosters the people connecting to each other and helps youngsters learn agriculture knowledge. Taking everything into account, replacing public parks with gardens can help civilians a lot in saving money, comprehending new knowledge and also linking citizens together. It is true that drawbacks can harm our life but if we know utilize all the benefits of this plan.