In some cities public parks and open spaces are being changed into gardens where local resident can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many cities around the world are repurposing open spaces and public parks into farmland. While this trend encourages people to eat more vegetables and connect people during planting activities, I believe the lack of a place to exercise and live outweigh the benefits. It cannot be denied that the cost of organic fruit and vegetables is becoming higher so having its own area for growing will decrease the money spent on food. It also encourages people to consume healthy products which help them live healthier. For example, people tend to use available ingredients, like vegetables in their own garden instead of buying more to minimise living costs and keep fit. Moreover, the owning of residential gardens bridges the gap between people. To explain, planting can be seen as a public activity to connect people. For instance, parents can teach their offspring how to plant trees by having the same theme to talk frequently and grasp each other more. However, the construction of a new garden can lead to a lack of exercise places. Owning to a large amount of population in some cities such as Ho Chi Minh City or Ha Noi, if everyone owns gardens, there would be no more spaces for public parks along with lacking community area. It can be difficult for people to find a place to meet friends and do exercise with no money. Additionally, the disadvantages can be observed when overpopulation around the world becomes more serious. This is because these changes result in no more spaces for housing, contributing to the increase of house prices. In Ha Noi, lots of workers belonging to the young generation cannot afford to buy their own house and have to rent it for a long period. In conclusion, I believe that the lack of public and living places is weighed more than the high consumption of healthy products and connecting people. Thus government should research to find out the best way for citizens' lives.