In some cities public parks and open space are being changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruits and vegetables. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary world, public parks and open spaces are replaced by gardens in order to grow fruit and vegetables for their own meals while there are some disadvantages to the replacement. I contend that the drawbacks of the management in public places and the toxicity of using fertilizers to the environment outweigh the increase of awareness of healthy fruit. To begin with, the replacement of public parks and open spaces with gardens for local citizens can increase the awareness of eating healthy fruit. Nowadays, the priority of health is the most important to avoid illness or cancer. For example, eating their own fruits and vegetables will ensure refreshment and avoid stomachache. As a result, learning the importance of eating fresh fruit will help you to avoid problems about health at an old age. Another point is that planting fruit in cities will require fertilizers and it will be harmful to the environment. While the fertilizers will help plants to grow quickly, they will cause water pollution and the plastic trash will increase. For instance, when gardeners fertilize their gardens will affect the water underground. Consequently, it will increase the polluted water of the rivers of cities. Moreover, it seems hard for the security of the city to manage the garden when it is a public place. Take thieves as an example, they can easily steal fruits or vegetables instead of plants to grow their own fruits. The result of public space will easily for people to commit a crime. In conclusion. the drawbacks of public gardens outweigh the benefits it is given. Hence, the replacement of public gardens will cause various problems in cities.