Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Genetic engineering has been considered a controversial problem in recent decades. Although some people raise concerns about its potential threats, the benefits of genetic engineering surpass its drawbacks. The initial concerns regarding genetic engineering revolve around two central issues:food production and animal experimentation. GMO crops,which are already cultivated,evoke worries about their potential risks of having foreign genes which may trigger an allergic reaction or exacerbate serious diseases. Additionally, individuals who hold religious or spiritual beliefs are likely to oppose inhumane animal experiments. While these scenarios may not directly threaten life on Earth,the ethical implication would be a persistent problem. On the other hand, genetic engineering may improve the standard of living, particularly in healthcare and agriculture. Firstly, it has contributed to healthcare by facilitating the development of vaccines,curing diseases or rectifying genetic defects before birth. Moreover, employing human cloning in the right way may potentially enhance human life, such as providing individual organs for transplant purposes. Furthermore,GMO crops have been modified to withstand harsh conditions like drought, and resist diseases such as Downy mildew. In addition, by producing better cultivars, genetic engineering has the potential to increase the crop yield,and fruit quality, as demonstrated by Viet Nam’s success in developing new rice varieties which can grow in salty environments. In conclusion, although there are some negative aspects of the unregulated implementation of genetic engineering, I reaffirm my conviction that it will improve quality of life.The apprehension surrounding it will be tackled adequately in the future through careful consideration and regulation.