Write about the following topic: Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many regions in the world have limited areas for residential. Some governments emphasize that the solution is to diminish the parklands and build residential over them. Due to this fact, I wholeheartedly disagree with this solution because it could affect the benefits of open spaces for the environment. Firstly, open spaces in the urban areas could reduce air pollution in the cities because many plants are growing there. There are many plants that could absorb toxic materials in the air such as censiverra and by planting these trees, the toxic materials in the air could be reduced. For instance, in Surabaya, Indonesia, the government expanded a park that contains many trees which could absorb the air pollution and it is proven that the percentage of pollution in Surabaya decreased within a few years. Secondly, another solution to the housing crisis could be solved by building apartments that could conclude many households rather than rebuilding the parks. The apartments could be built with huge capacities for people while the amount of area to build the apartments is smaller than a house for each household. For example, a 300-meters cubical apartment with 10 floors could contain 30 households while normal houses for 30 households would need 3 hectares. Therefore, diminishing the parklands is not the best solution for the housing crisis. To conclude, removing the parklands and changing them with new buildings would decrease the benefits of open spaces that are needed in the cities. The benefits of open spaces such as air filtering would decrease and affect people's health in the cities. Due to these facts, I emphasize that the housing crisis should not be solved by changing the lands with new buildings.