Nowadays, young children and teenagers are eating more unhealthy food and not exercising. Some people think parents are responsible for their children’s unhealthy habits, while others think governments should play a larger role in encouraging children and teenagers to be healthier. Who do you think has more of an influence on children & teenagers: parents or governments? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It is true that in recent years there has been a growing tendency for people to not eat healthy. That is why parents and the government must influence the healthy habits of children and adolescents. and I would say that parents have a direct and immediate responsibility for these habits. Regarding the influence of parents, they have direct responsibility, since they buy and prepare food; and in the end they are the ones who decide if the diet is balanced or not. In addition, they play an important role as a role model for our children, if parents lead a healthy and healthy life, they will be a reflection of us. For example, in my case, my daughters are young and do not consume soda drinks or processed foods, every weekend they go swimming and in this way we are positively impacting their care and their future. Likewise, the government can also influence promoting policies that are reflected in healthy habits, such as regulating the advertising of harmful foods, incorporating taxes on unhealthy foods, incorporating promotion and prevention campaigns, etc.; A good example would be, in Colombia a policy was issued that all foods must include labels if they contain excess sugars, fats, etc. so that people become aware that they are eating. In conclusion, parents have an immediate and specific influence on their children and the government plays an important role in environments conducive to healthy habits, which is why both must continue working to promote healthy habits to have healthy adults in the future.