Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Although it is sometimes thought that advertisement motivates people to purchase products which are unnecessary, other people think that it informs consumers about new items that may develop their lifestyle. In my opinion, I believe that advertisements force customers indirectly to buy more goods by creating a false need and using famous people. At present, a vast majority of companies are influencing people to spend on products that they do not need with various luring advertising techniques. One way to manipulate consumers is to create artificial needs among the public by providing fascinating incentives such as, buy one get one free and massive discounts on holidays. A large section of society, as a result, possesses the habit of spending more than they can afford. For this reason, people easily get influenced and do not hesitate in buying products that are redundant. For instance, a recent survey carried out by BBC revealed that the sales of renowned brands increase by 20%-30% when they provide such offers. Another way of selling more units of production to the general masses is through the influence of celebrities. In other words, nowadays every company pays a huge amount of money to famous people to do advocacy of their products or services. As a consequence, people easily get convinced regarding the high value and good quality of the product and start spending more on those items which they already have due to the impact and credibility of various popular players or movie stars. What is more, celebrity marketing increases the acceptance of the company and originates curiosity about the brand among people which brings more customers to try their products. To conclude, I think the modern advertisement industry influences everyone to buy unnecessary things through clever selling styles as well as renowned public figures.