Many believe that the best way to solve environmental problems is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Countless individuals believe that the most suitable way to solve environmental issues is to increase significantly the prices of fuel. I completely disagree with the said notion. In this essay, I will discuss why increasing the prices of fuel would not be the best measure to solve environmental problems. In recent years, there have been various factors affecting the environment. One of the primary reasons is deforestation, which is associated with many other problems. The best way to solve environmental problems is by introducing ways to reduce pollution and the destruction of trees. For instance, a survey conducted in New Delhi which is considered one of the most polluted cities around the world has proved that deforestation is one of the biggest reasons for environmental problems like air pollution and global warming. However, it is the responsibility of the government to take strict actions against these important issues rather than increasing fuel prices. Additionally, the hike in fuel prices could also affect factors like affordability. In other words, people below the poverty line and lower-middle-class families will not be able to make use of motor vehicles or cars that they are already driving. Pakistan is a country that saw the highest level of inflation in 2022, which impacted people in terms of affordability. Hence, the increase in the price of fuel could lead to many other issues, rather than solving environmental problems. In conclusion, deforestation is associated with many environmental problems like air pollution and global warming, and hence the government should find solutions for the same. Moreover, I believe that fuel prices are the least factor affecting our environment, if it increases it may lead to many problems.