Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railway and trams. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that spending more and more money on motorways and roads is more significant rather than public transport. The writer partly agrees with this statement because of several reasons which will be explained in this essay. On the one hand, public transports play a pivotal role in people’s development. This is because these means of transport are very friendly to the environment, which enhances the quality of life nowadays. If the government invested a large amount of money in national transport, society and the environment would benefit through these developments related to the reduction of pollution. Take subways as an example, this type of transport emits less greenhouse gases than private cars, thereby the air quality would be improved significantly in the future. However, developing the quality of road networks provides many advantages for society. Firstly, if the authorities reconstructed the road systems, it would reduce the large amount of potholes, which are extremely dangerous to individuals. According to many surveys, more than half of total accidents are caused by these potholes, so the government should immediately solve this problem in order to improve the safety of driving. Additionally, many problems associated with traffic congestion will be solved by expanding the motorway systems in urban areas. Thus, these expansions will result in a significant enhancement of traffic flows in society. For instance, during peak hours in Ho Chi Minh City, where residents have to face traffic congestion, therefore, investing more money in improving the quality of roads is a priority mission. In conclusion, although people can take advantage of developing public transport will lead to a friendly and better society, I argue it is an appropriate way for the authorities to improve the road and motorway network due to its reduction of death rates and traffic congestion.