Some people think that it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railways and trams. Agree or disagree?

Whether it is vital to use money for motorways and roads or public transport systems, like trams and railways, is a controversial problem. Although many inhabitants support the former statement, this writer disagrees with it due to its expensive cost as well as environmental impacts. It should be acknowledged that in order to make roads, it takes lots of time, payment and effort to complete. As the materials are costly, if they are not used properly, it might lead to a financial burden. As a result, officials who are responsible will be grounded and criticized. Take Vietnam as an example, where there was once that a government employee had to pay a large amount of cash due to using the investment to build a flyover without success. Thus, it is not necessary to use finance on roads. However, some humans argue that making more streets reduces traffic congestion. Due to this point, riders and drivers have more space to travel, which means that they can save time on their route. Although this opinion has its own right, it needs to be understood that the more thoroughfares are built, the more serious impacts it has on the environment. Because of the fact that residents prefer to travel on their own, this action supports families to own their means of transportation. It seems to be harmless, but the exhaust that is wasted from these vehicles is one of the main factors causing air pollution. Hence, the impacts of building roads on the environment are severe. Taking all into consideration, spending capital on ways is not as useful as using public transportation, due to not being cost-effective and contributing to pollution. Therefore, governments should have strategies to raise the community’s awareness and use finance effectively.