Some people believe that car-free days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are other ways that are more effective. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the effective ways used to make a reduction in air pollution. While some hold a strong view that days without car usage are efficacious ways to deal with such issues, the opposite makes a statement that other measures are far more efficient. From my point of view, though the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of this latter. On the one hand, there are some justifications which prove that air pollution can be alleviated if no-car usage for days apply. To begin with, by using public transportation, people can contribute to reducing the number of private vehicles on the road, promoting cleaner energy sources. For example, instead of cars, commuters may utilize public transportations, such as trains, buses, as all of these have less detrimental effect on the natural environment, and mitigate the fossil fuels as well as toxic gases released into the air. In addition, during rush hours, the large number of cars that move along roads may lead to harmful effects due to the slow influx of traffic, such as emitting carbon footprints. So, if no-car rules are used, individuals have to commute by buses, trains, or even bikes, which save energy to the environment. While car-free days are effective methods to lessen polluted air, these are not the optimal ways since the most practical and effective solution lies in enhancing human awareness of environmental protection. Firstly, there are many uses in homes and other personal purposes, like burning firewood and coal which will be another factor causing air pollution, thereby they can reduce the frequency of use if it is not necessary. Secondly, individuals may launch campaigns needed to limit the release of hazardous waste into the environment, actively remediate polluted environments. Hence, there are still other ways to handle air pollution. In conclusion, although vehicles are a major reason for air pollution, raising citizens’ perceptions about environmental conservation is more significant to make a deterioration in the atmosphere pollution.