Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this technology era, we are facing the fact that some children consume most of their time with their devices. This issue is inevitable because now all human activities are closely related to smartphones. Though having a tech-savvy generation is a positive development, I believe that the drawbacks for children with gadgets outweigh the benefits. First and foremost, this phenomenon arises because there has been a shift in social culture and lifestyle in the past few years. Humans now socialize with each other through online platforms, including students. For instance, aside from the school, they also maintain their friendship through social messaging. Moreover, during the COVID pandemic which obliged students to study from home, they are urged to have gadgets in order to follow learning properly. Even though there is a considerable benefit of having a generation that is familiar with technology, children have a short golden era. That's the parents' task to foster their children's time with purposeful activities and experiences. For example, arranging outdoor activities which stimulate their physical abilities, to switch their eyes off their smartphones. Additionally, gadgets could distract their activities, mainly studying. Addiction to smartphone features, such as social media, will lead to procrastination and easily blur their focus on school. To conclude, the digital era with the massive use of smartphones cannot be hindered. How children socialize nowadays has shifted a bit to online platforms. However, parents need to engage them in screen-less activities more to maximize their self-development and keep them away from unnecessary distractions that might be produced by excessive use of smartphones.