Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Many people, and children in particular, enjoy playing computer games all day long. While some people argue that it brings some advantages on users, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact. On the one hand, I accept that video games can be both entertaining and educational. Users are transported into virtual words which are more exciting and engaging than real-life pastimes. From an educational perspective, these games encourage concentration, imagination and creativity as well as logical thinking and problem solving, which are useful skills outside the gaming context. Moreover, computer games can improve users' motor skills and help to prepare them for real-world tasks such as flying a plane. However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Gaming can be highly addictive because gamers are constantly given scores, new targets, and frequent rewards to keep them playing. For instance, many children now spend hours each day trying to progress through the levels of a game or to get a higher score than their friends. This type of addiction could have bad effect ranging from lack of sleep to problems at school. As a result, they would sacrifice their homeworks for a few more hours on the computer. Furthermore, the rise of obesity has been linked to the sedentary lifestyle and lack of exercise that often accompany gaming addiction. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of video games like addiction and obese are more significant than the possible benefits.