Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think that this is a waste of money because people can access to information on the Internet. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether libraries or the internet is good places to gain information bears some consideration. The writer of this essay believes that it is more beneficial for the population to obtain information in libraries due to reliable resources and fostering social communication rather than searching for details by technology. To commence with, people should go to public libraries to obtain high-quality materials. In other words, since the internet contain vast amounts of resources, some of which are inaccurate, people must discern between trustworthy and unreliable ones. Therefore, libraries are valid places for them to access mainstream books or documents that may be censored. As a result, with full prestige resources, individuals can enhance their expertise effectively while avoiding erroneous details that could lead to gaps in their knowledge. The internet, however, is convenient in various ways for people to gain information. To be more specific, people just need to stay at their living places and utilize several technological tools available such as phones, laptops or tablets to access the details, especially people who are busy with their work and do not have sufficient time to go to the libraries. Take, for example, Finland, where 27% of IELTS learners preferred to use online documents for writing because they provided flexible learning opportunities. In the writer's opinion, going to public libraries also improves social interaction in society. It must be recognized that libraries are the destinations that not only help people to acquire more knowledge but also a wide range of recreational activities for individuals to entertain each other. Consequently, these activities will foster interpersonal bonds and expand social circles for individuals. For instance, Ho Chi Minh International Library, which conducted 2 events every year, also assisted 3000 readers to connect with the other ones in Vietnam. Thus, even though using online resources gives people flexibility in obtaining information, the provision of tailored information and enhancement of social relationships are aspects that should be given more consideration. Hence, public libraries are more suitable for individuals to acquire knowledge.