Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to older more traditional values such as respect for the and the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I agree to an extent in terms of seflishness not being a positive trait; however, greed is not necessary a trait that should be viewed in bad light. Greed plays a major role in many of the invensions we use on the daily. A scientist greed for achievemnt might result in a cure for cancer. Furthermore, greed as a word is viewed positivally in differnet languages such as Arabic and Korean as the drive for success. That being said, soceity functions on the collective efforts of individuals; therefore, greed and selfishness should not disturbute the community's peace. The best interest of the group should be held of higher regard. Some may argue that personal freedom is more important than adhering to the needs of society, but that is proven false. A good representation of this argument is how countries who inforced a lockdown during Covid19 were able to keep the number of patients low and controled control the spread. These countries were able to snap back to normal lives quicker than countries that chose to allow individual freedoms Overall, we are witnessed in history books that regardless of the values, no perfect country exists. While a balance between individualism and communitism communities communalism is of importance, the lack of greed would not create a utopia.