In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

The extremely high cost of property in some parts of the world still cannot prevent most people from buying accommodation instead of renting one. In my opinion, the main reasons that drive this decision are financial security and the feeling of control that owning a home provides. First, for elderly people renting can be a heavy burden. To prepare themselves for retirement some individuals will choose to take out a mortgage from the bank and pay for their own flat as long as they are young, to become more prepared for the period when they will not be able to work. In my country, it is very popular to pay a significant amount from the monthly earnings in order to become an owner of the property and be able to cut those payments in future, thus ensuring a more financially stable retirement. Second, the more people control the environment they live in the better they feel. However, while renting, it is up to the landlord to decide how the house looks like and who is allowed to live there. In Russia, for example, the owner of the property not only decides when to discontinue the contract, but also whether to allow pets or even children. By owning the apartment individuals will enjoy making all the above decisions by themselves, consequently improving their ability to control the way they live. In my country, the government encourages people to buy their own housing by increasing the tax on the additional property and by providing subsidies for the first apartment acquisition. I see it as a positive trend, as it can benefit both individuals and society. To conclude, the importance of owning a place to live can hardly be overestimated, as it influences the level of living both financially and emotionally. Despite the high cost, it is a good investment and should be strongly supported by local authorities worldwide.