In the past, the main role of teachers was providing information. Today with various sources of information available to students, teachers have no role in modern education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is no doubt that education plays an important role in developing responsible citizens. Historically, teachers were the main source of information and knowledge, however, students nowadays learn most things from online research and self-study. I completely believe that teachers are the most important providers of knowledge and in this essay, I will explore the reasons. Teachers provide only the relevant material in the correct order and omit any unnecessary content that may cause confusion. This is because they are aware of what order to present information so that students can understand and develop ideas. For example, when teaching medicine, it is crucial to start with physiology, so that the students get an understanding of what the normal body functions like before they move on to the pathology and finally the treatment. On the other hand, when loaded with information about a disease on the internet, it could become difficult to form a clear understanding. Teachers are therefore still the best option for learning and developing in any field. Most teachers have invaluable experience obtained from long years of working and researching. For instance, most high school teachers work for many years and have seen multiple badges of students progress and graduate, therefore, know what methods of teaching work and how the specification of the learning content has changed over the years. As a result, they are able to understand the learning abilities of the children and are able to teach by sharing their knowledge and experience. In conclusion, although the internet has a vast amount of learning content, I completely agree that it cannot match the education provided by teachers. This is because they have gained experience over many years and can provide targeted education based on the understanding of the student.