Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case ? What can be done to attract more local people to these museums ?

There is a school of thought that much more tourists pay a visit to historical attraction than local people. The writer of this essay claims that this is the result of lack of appeal, yet it can be solved by the promotion of media advertisements. When it comes to museums and historical sites, it is understandable that people especially who live in that area tend to get bored with them. To explain further, because locals have got exposed to these locations since they were young so it is reasonable that they have already get accustomed to these historic relic which result in fewer visit paid for these sites. However, tourists coming from other parts of the world will be attracted by the beauty and value of these heritage site due to its advertisements on the social media. Therefore, with that curiosity, they are more likely to go there rather than locals. However, this can be tackled by promoting the image of those historical locations and museums. To put it simply, the authorites authority of local area can pay funds in order to celebrate public events which can be informed on the social media so that not only tourists but also local residents will find it worth paying a trip to these places. As a result, through these ceremonies, people can have much deeper understanding about the value of historic relic which can encourage them to pay more visits to historical areas. In conclusion, the poor attendance of locals at museum and historical attraction is the consequence of lack of interest. Nevertheless, by promoting the value of these sites, they can receive more visist visit from both locals and tourists