Many offices and shools have open-space design. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, more and more buildings, including offices and educational institutions, have been designed with the concept of open space rather than having separate rooms. In my opinion, this is a negative development that can lead to a lack of privacy and poor efficiency at work. One significant issue that can be noted from this design is that employees will likely file more complaints regarding their privacy. It is apparent that the more open-space offices are built, the less personal space employees have. That is to say, such a design can clearly make employees feel that they are being monitored by colleagues and leaders all the time. In this way, human rights are likely to be invaded, which could lead to serious consequences, namely strikes and demonstrations. In a world where privacy is a basic human right for every citizen, architects must take this problem into consideration when they want to have an open-space design, if not, negative consequences will come up. Another obvious problem is that poor efficiency can arise from open-space design. To explain further, it is inconvenient for people to concentrate on their work and study because when everyone sits in the same place, they can be interrupted easily. Even worse, in some cases, the environment will be noisy, and this undoubtedly can lower staff performance. If, for example, the employees in the office start laughing because of a silly joke, everyone can be affected, and important tasks, namely interviews or meetings, can be distracted owing to the constant noise. Hence, open-space design will decrease the efficiency of work. To sum up, although it has become more popular for open design, I believe that it has brought a lot of problems for this to be considered a positive trend.